Indian Institute of Science

The Indian Institute of Science (IISc) was established in 1909 by a visionary partnership between the industrialist Jamsetji Nusserwanji Tata, the Mysore royal family and the Government of India. Since its inception, IISc has been at the forefront of research in all disciplines in science and engineering.

In recent years, the Institute has also actively nurtured many interdisciplinary initiatives in areas such as nanoscience and engineering, climate research, neuroscience, energy research, and biomedical engineering.

In addition to fostering advanced education and research, IISc also aspires to create programmes that address the society’s vital needs such as sustainability, women empowerment, healthcare, and skill development. Its mandate is “to provide for advanced instruction and to conduct original investigations in all branches of knowledge as are likely to promote the material and industrial welfare of India.”

Photo credit: Office of Communications, IISc

In its Centenary year in 2009, IISc acquired a 1,500-acre campus at Challakere in the Chitradurga district of Karnataka. Challakere is a backward district listed under the Planning Commission’s Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme (BRGF). IISc’s first initiative at the new campus was to establish a Talent Development Centre (TDC) to train science and mathematics teachers from Government and Government-aided schools in local communities.

In 2018, IISc was selected as an Institution of Eminence (IoE) by the Government of India, and it consistently figures among the top Indian institutions in world university rankings.

For more information, please visit the Institute’s website at